Skip to main content

The South Dakota Law Review is a journal of critical commentary on current legal issues with a state, national and international circulation. Published three times per year, the Law Review contains articles by leading members of the legal profession, as well as student notes and comments. Students involved in the Law Review develop their research and writing skills while earning academic credit. A student board of editors is responsible for all editorial work, and students are selected for board membership during their second year on the basis of their writing, leadership and dedication to the success of the Law Review.


Subscriptions to the Law Review are $35 per year ($45 outside the United States and Canada), payable in advance to:

South Dakota Law Review
Knudson School of Law - University of South Dakota
414 East Clark Street
Vermillion, South Dakota 57069-3290

Back Issues

Back issues and volumes can be obtained via written request to:

William S. Hein & Co., Inc.
1285 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14209

Phone: 800-828-7571


We invite the submission of unsolicited manuscripts. Manuscripts should be double-spaced with wide left margins. Citations should conform to the newest edition of the The Bluebook. We regret that any manuscript solicited will only be returned if the author remits return postage and handling fees. Address all correspondence to:

Articles Editor, South Dakota Law Review
Knudson School of Law - University of South Dakota
414 East Clark Street
Vermillion, South Dakota 57069-3290

Submissions may be sent via email to

Student Comments and Case Notes

In selecting student pieces for publication, the Law Review gives preference to its members. However, the Law Review encourages all University of South Dakota Knudson School of Law students to submit comments or case notes for publication. For further information about the submissions process, and prior to submitting any piece for publication, please contact the Lead Articles Editor at

2021-2022 Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Samantha Merrill

Managing Editor: Madison Jons

Lead Articles Editor: Cameron McCue

Lead Articles Editor: Baylie Moravec

Notes and Comments Editor: James Roemer

Symposium Editor: Luke Miller

Production Editor: Jacob Carsten

Production Editor: Josh Liester

Copy Editor: Chesney Arend

Copy Editor: Jack Brown

Copy Editor: Jillian Smith

Copy Editor: Joshua Weinheimer

Associate Editor: Renee Gallagher

Associate Editor: Elana Hicks

Associate Editor: Owen Wiese


2021-2021 Staff Writers

Kate Katterhagen

Logan Schaefbauer

Ashley Theobald

Gabrielle Unurh

Jaquilyn Waddell Boie