July 2018

  • Congratulations to Dr. Rajeshwary Ghosh for receiving a New Investigator Travel Award to the AHA Basic Cardiovascular Sciences conference for her Abstract entitled “Enhanced Chaperone Mediated Autophagy in Cardiomyocytes Ameliorates Pathology Induced by Hypoxic and Proteotoxic Stresses

May 2018

  • BBS alumnus Mark Ranek, Ph.D., who graduated from the lab of Xuejun “XJ” Wang, Ph.D., was awarded an American Heart Association Career Development grant to aid in his transition from post-doctoral fellow to a research instructor faculty position in the Division of Cardiology at Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions. The purpose of this grant is to investigate an inadequacy in the protein quality control mechanism that occurs in human heart failure and test a new therapeutic option for these patients. Congratulations to Mark for all his hard work and dedication to his research.

April 2018

  • We are proud to announce that Steve Bambas, a Basic Biomedical Sciences instructor, is the recipient of the 2018 University Center Excellence in Teaching Award.

March 2018

  • Congratulations to our collaborators at the Pittsburgh, Sioux Falls and Portland VA Healthcare systems for presentations at the American Auditory Society Conference

October 2017

  • President’s Award for Research Excellence: Established Faculty, Brian Burrell, Ph.D., associate professor of basic biomedical sciences in the Sanford School of Medicine.
  • President’s Award for Research Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Samuel Sathyanesan, Ph.D., associate professor of basic biomedical sciences in the Sanford School of Medicine.
  • October 28th, several BBS trainees presented posters at the Nebraska Physiological Society Annual Meeting held in Omaha, Nebraska. In the postdoctoral category there were 15 presenters: Rajeshwary Ghosh, Ph.D. of Pattison Lab placed first, Peng Xiao, Ph.D. and Penglong Wu, Ph.D. of XJ Wang Lab placed second and fourth, respectively. In the graduate student category, Hanming Zhang of X-J Wang Lab placed first out of 20 trainee presenters.

September 2017

  • Congratulations to BBS/CBBRe graduate students Shaydie Davies and Riley Paulsen for receiving a full tuition and travel scholarship from the SD EPSCoR to the upcoming Science Communication Fellowship at the SD Discovery Center in Pierre, SD.

August 2017

  • CBBRe Research Symposium - Second Place - Graduate/Post Doctorate/Staff Division – Hanming Zhang presenting "Inhibition of Phosphodiesterase 1 Confers Striking Therapeutic Benefit to HFpEF in Mice."

July 2017

  • Hanming Zhang (a fourth year PhD student of  XJ Wang lab) has won “the New Investigator Travel Award” at the BCVS 2017 Scientific Sessions, for his presentation entitled “Inhibition of phosphodiesterase 1 confers striking therapeutic benefit to HFpEF in mice”. This is a highly competitive and prestigious award offered by the Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences (BCVS) of the American Heart Association.

June 2017

  • Congratulations to Hanming Zhang, a Ph.D. student in XJ Wang's lab, on receiving the prestigious New Investigator Travel Award for the Basic Cardiovascular Sciences 2017 Scientific Sessions from the Council of Basic Cardiovascular Science. The sessions will be held July 10-13, 2017 in Portland, Oregon.
  • The Center for Genetics & Behavioral Health, led by USD professor Gina Forster, Ph.D., will receive $3,466,300 over five years to study genetic and environmental influences in post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Done in collaboration with the Avera Institute for Human Genetics, the study aims to place South Dakota at the forefront of reducing the health, financial and personal burdens of PTSD and associated disorders.

March 2017

  • Robert Morecraft, Ph.D., has been invited to be part of a research team of faculty from the University of California San Francisco, University of California Davis and University of California Berkeley to develop an experimental model to test the effectiveness of a new device designed to improve the recovery of movement following stroke. The work will be conducted at the California National Primate Research Center.
  • Congratulations to the CBBRe Spring 2017 Graduate Student Travel Award winners! Rebecca Sistad, a graduate psychology student mentored by Raluca Simons, Ph.D., will present at the National American Psychological Association. Brenna Bray, a graduate student in BBS mentored by Gina Forster, Ph.D., presented at the ninth International Meeting on Steroids and the Nervous System.
  • Mick Watt, Ph.D., was appointed the Donald S. MacKay Distinguished Professor of Research, effective July 1, 2017. This professorship was established by Ms. Mercedes MacKay, who was the librarian for the state of South Dakota from 1939 to 1973 and credited with increasing literacy in the state. She graduated from USD in 1925 with a bachelor 's degree and received a master 's degree in business administration and English in 1929. Ms. MacKay's bequest reflects her interest in improving health through research. Her brother, Donald S. MacKay, died in 1922 at the age of 17, possibly as a result of appendicitis.
  • Samuel Sathyanesan, Ph.D., Basic Biomedical Sciences, was given an award from the NIH for a project entitled, "Characterization of Trophic Factor Induced Antidepressant Action."

February 2017

  • The National Institutes of Health has given funding to XJ Wang, Ph.D., for a new R01 grant entitled "The NRF2-p62 Axis in the Crosstalk between Proteasomal and Lysosomal Degradation." Wang's other two active R01 grants investigate the inadequate coupling between ubiquitination and proteasomal degradation in proteotoxicity and the COP9 signalosome in controlling cardiomyocyte fate.
  • Brenna Bray, a graduate student in basic biomedical sciences, was awarded a fellowship from the International Meeting on Steroids and Nervous System to present her research in Torino, Italy, this month.

January 2017

  • Haotian Zhao, Ph.D., and Katie Grausam, a graduate student, gave oral presentations at the annual meeting for the Society for Neuro-Oncology. They shared research findings on molecular signals that promote pediatric brain tumors and therapies to prevent metastasis of these tumors.