Skip to main content

Eleven from The U inducted into AOA national honor society

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The South Dakota chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha inducted eight students, one faculty member, one alumnus and one resident at an induction banquet in Sioux Falls, S.D., last week. It was the 32nd new member installation of the Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota’s chapter. Alpha Omega Alpha is the only national honor medical society in the world.

Six students from the Class of 2009 were elected last fall: Jay Bauder of Tyndall, S.D., Justin Elhoff of Lennox, S.D., James Kuzman of Parkston, S.D., Douglas Lynch of Hot Springs, S.D., Robert Miller of Denver, Colo., and Sarah Wierda of Sioux Falls, S.D. Two students from the Class of 2010 were elected as juniors this spring: Jared Daniel of Fonda, Iowa, and Aaron Graumann of Sioux Falls, S.D.

Alpha Omega Alpha is organized for educational purposes and aims to promote scholarship and research in medical schools through the encouragement of a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and graduates. The USD chapter was granted its charter in 1978. Members of Alpha Omega Alpha at The U must rank in the top 25 percent of their graduating class with no more than one-sixth of potential graduates elected for membership. Scholastic excellence is not the only criterion for election; integrity, capacity for leadership, compassion and fairness in dealing with colleagues are considered to be of equal significance.

In addition to students, the chapter elected one faculty, one alumnus and one resident. Dr. Joel Ziebarth was the alumnus, Dr. Susan Anderson was the faculty inductee and Dr. Darshana Patel, Internal Medicine resident, was the resident.