Skip to main content

USD's medical school faculty honored by state organization

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The South Dakota Chapter of the American College of Physicians recently honored three doctors who are faculty members of the Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota.

LuAnn Eidsness, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Internal Medicine, received the organization’s Humanitarian Award. Thomas Braithwaite, M.D., clinical faculty member, received the group’s Laureate Award, and Suneet Verma, M.D., clinical faculty member, received the Young Physician of the Year Award.

In addition to her medical school role, Eidsness is medical director of Hospice and Palliative Medicine and Ethics at Sanford USD Medical Center. She graduated from our medical school in 1987 and our internal medicine residency program. The Humanitarian Award honors doctors who have distinguished themselves as true humanitarians.

Braithwaite is an associate professor with the medical school’s internal medicine department. He also is the medical director of the Sanford USD Medical Center Hospitalist Program as well as director of cardiac rehab and clinical practice committee chair. He graduated from our medical school in 1982 and completed his internal medicine residency at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. The Laureate Award honors doctors with an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research and service.

Verma, a clinical assistant professor in the medical school’s Department of Internal Medicine, is also an internist and clinical lipidologist with Avera McGreevy Clinic in Sioux Falls. He holds a medical degree from the University college of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India. He completed his residency at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. The Young Physician of the Year Award is bestowed upon a physician who has taken a leadership role in the South Dakota Chapter of ACP.