Skip to main content

Students receive Dakota Corps Scholarships to attend USD

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Twelve South Dakota high school graduates have been awarded Dakota Corps scholarships to attend the University of South Dakota this fall and pursue careers in critical-need occupations within the state.

Each year, Dakota Corps recipients receive funding equivalent to the cost of tuition and applicable fees at their postsecondary institution. Once graduated, they are required to enter into a critical-need occupation in South Dakota, with terms of service equivalent to the number of years they received the scholarship, plus one year. The scholarships are supported entirely by private donations and administrative responsibility for the Dakota Corps Scholarship program is overseen by the South Dakota Board of Regents.

“I congratulate these students for choosing careers in critical-need occupations,” said Gov. Dennis Daugaard. “I also want to thank all of those private businesses and nonprofit organizations that are funding these scholarships. This is a program that not only educates our students, but also keeps them in South Dakota after graduation and provides the brainpower that is essential for these critical-need occupations.”

Current occupations that qualify for Dakota Corps Scholarship support include teaching K-12 music, special education, or foreign language; teaching high school math or science; working as a licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, or in other allied health-care fields; or working as a large-animal veterinarian.

In all, 30 recent South Dakota high school graduates were awarded Dakota Corps scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year. For more information, contact the board office at 1-800-874-9033 or send an e-mail to

The 12 students who are enrolled at USD as new Dakota Corps Scholarship recipients are Brianna Youngstrom of Armour, S.D., Austin Wagaman, Kathryn Whisler and Benjamin Nelson of Sioux Falls, S.D., Kaylee Bahr of Aberdeen, S.D., Katey Ulrich and Abbey Ulrich of Watertown, S.D., Kyle DeLay of Beresford, S.D., Emma Smith of Huron, S.D., Brittany Dilts of Canton, S.D., Rebecca Hebda of Mission Hill, S.D. and Wyman Wenz of Britton, S.D.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News