Skip to main content

USDs Larson elected to NLN board of governors

VERMILLION, S.D. -- June Larson, associate dean of the University of South Dakota’s School of Health Sciences and a national leader in nursing education, has been elected by the National League for Nursing (NLN) membership to serve on the Board of Governors for a three year term through 2014. She was installed as a governor during the annual business meeting at the NLN Education Summit in Orlando, Fla. NLN promotes excellence in nursing education to build a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the nation's health.

Larson was named associate dean of the USD’s School of Health Sciences in 2009, having been steadily promoted since she first joined USD as an instructor of nursing in 1980. She served as chair of the department of nursing from 1998-2009, leading the program to achieve status as a NLN Center of Excellence (COE) in nursing education. Larson is a national consultant to other nursing programs regarding curriculum and accreditation.

In 2005, she became a Certified Nurse Educator and was elected to the NLN Nursing Education Advisory Council in 2006. In 2008, Larson was inducted into the NLN’s Academy of Nursing Education, highlighting her contributions to the field. Other honors include the Pioneer in Nursing Award from the South Dakota Nurses Association (2008) and the YWCA Tribute to Women (2009). A past president of the South Dakota Board of Nursing, Larson is currently the board's vice president. A photo of Larson is available at

USD’s School of Health Sciences has nine programs offering bachelor of science degrees in alcohol and drug studies, dental hygiene, health sciences, medical laboratory science, nursing, and social work; an associate of science degree in nursing; master of science degrees in occupational therapy and physician assistant studies; master of social work; master of arts in addiction studies; and a doctorate of physical therapy degree. For more information about USD’s School of Health Sciences, please visit or call (605) 677-5000.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News