Skip to main content

Governors Leadership Luncheon at USD honors regional students

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota, the W.O. Farber Center for Civic Leadership and the Office of the President sponsored the 13th annual Governor’s Leadership Luncheon on Saturday, May 11 at the Muenster University Center on the USD campus.

More than 120 students from South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska, nominated by their high school counselors, were invited to attend this unique and exciting event, which included a keynote address by South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard, and remarks from USD Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Chuck Staben and Associate Dean of the USD School of Law Tom Sorensen. The program also featured a lunch and the presentation of certificates honoring each student for their exceptional leadership and community service.

For more information about the Governor’s Leadership Luncheon, please visit or contact Katie.Olson@usd,.edu. A list of the students invited to attend the 2013 Luncheon is provided.


George – Jacob Hillabrands, George-Little Rock High School; Hawarden – Amber Harry, West Sioux High School; Jenna Rehder, West Sioux High School; Callie Schmidt, West Sioux High School; Lawton – Nolan Niehus, Lawton-Bronson High School; Le Mars – Nathan Klein, Gehlen Catholic School; Remsen – Molly Stoos, Remsen-Union High School; Rock Rapids – Emily DeJong, Central Lyon High School; Sergeant Bluff – Lauren Lennon, Sergeant Bluff-Luton High School; Sioux City – Olivia Greenwell, Zachary Heisterkamp, West High School; Xavier Scarlett, North High School; Kristen Wyant, West High School;


Adrian – Justice Redding, Adrian High School


Bloomfield – Trenton Guenther, Niobrara High School; Aaron Millikan, Bloomfield Community Schools; Creighton – Allison Morrill, Creighton Community High School; Jackson – Kianna Kramper, Ponca Public School; Newcastle – Larissa Attema, Newcastle High School

South Dakota

Aberdeen – Kaylee Kappes, Aberdeen Central High School; Ashley Rozell, Warner High School; Tannon Tople, Aberdeen Central High School; Madisyn Waage, Aberdeen Central High School; Alecester – Eden Hemmingson, Alcester-Hudson High School; Armour – Krista Fuoss, Armour High School; Belle Fourche – Alicia Absher, Belle Fourche High School; Isaac Collins, Belle Fourche High School; Beresford – Madeline Antonsen, Beresford High School; Bonesteel – Madison Jons, South Central High School; Brandon – Megan Swets, Brandon Valley High School; Mariah Zell, Brandon Valley High School; Bridgewater – Emily Schrag, Mitchell Christian School; Brookings – Alex Kimn, Brookings High School; Yilun Li, Brookings High School; Isaac Schaal, Brookings High School; Bryant – Malore Anderson, Hamlin High School; Canistota – Dominick Weber, Canistota Public High School; Centerville – Kristina Laska, Centerville High School; Colman – Baylee Groos, Colman-Egan High School; Colome – Chase Hrabanek, Colome Consolidated Schools; Corsica – Micayla Bamberg, Corsica High School; Crooks – Landon Leuning, Tri-Valley High School; Deadwood – Brooke Bialas, Lead-Deadwood High School; Dell Rapids – Sarah Haak, Dell Rapids High School; Jessica Tisher, Dell Rapids High School; Dimock – Hannah Wegehaupt, Parkston High School; Doland – Brianna Tschetter, Doland High School; Ethan – Jordan Grosdidier, Ethan High School Winner – Bailey Baker, Winner High School; Faith – Jarius Halligan, Faith High School; Flandreau – Baylee Relf, Flandreau Public High School; Garretson – Jacob Donahoe, Brandon Valley High School; Joshua Liester, Garretson High School; Grenville – Kayla Paszek, Webster Area High School; Groton – Gabriel Dohman, Groton Area School; Hartford – Magdalen Heiberger, Tri-Valley High School; Huron – Avery Del Gasso, Huron High School; Davis Nemmers, Huron High School; Maria Schwader, Huron High School; Irene – Calla Harper, Irene-Wakonda High School; Jefferson – Abigail Faldmo, Dakota Valley High School; Langford – Bo Fries, Langford Area High School; Lead – Megan Erickson, Lead-Deadwood High School; Madison – Abby Christiansen, Madison High School; Menno – Caleb Preszler, Menno High School; Miller – Jamie Mentzer, Miller Junior-Senior High School; Mitchell – Kristina Luczak, Mitchell High School; Dusan Mirkovic, Mitchell High School; Tate Schoenfelder, Mitchell High School; Mobridge – Abigail Fred, Mobridge Pollock High School; Montrose – Tyler Cleveland, Montrose High School; Nunda – Karee Wicks, Rutland School District; Northville – Corbin Smith, Northwestern High School; Parker – Cahterine Leber, Parker High School; Plankinton – James Mayclin, Plankinton High School; Platte – Brady Peterson, Platte-Geddes High School; Rapid City – Abbey Hilt, St. Thomas More High School; Andrew Montoya, St. Thomas More High School; Scotland – Sawyer Schmitz, Scotland High School; Sioux Falls – Brita Cauble, Roosevelt High School; Austin Coomes, Roosevelt High School; Margaret Eckerstorfer, O’Gorman High School; Benjamin Hanzen, Roosevelt High School; Christian Heisler, O’Gorman High School; Zachary Schmitz, Lincoln High School; Connor Schneider, Washington High School; Cassidy Skorczewski, Washington High School; Elizabeth Spier, Washington High School; Mira Yousef, O’Gorman High School; Sisseton – Taylor Gaikowski, Sisseton High School; Morgan Janisch, Sisseton High School; Jacob Noordermeer, Washington High School; Cole Purdy, Lincoln High School; Spearfish – Tanner Rost, Spearfish High School; Spencer – Emily Brown, Hanson High School; Sturgis – Josee Schwartz, Sturgis Brown High School; Karli Wilson, Sturgis Brown High School; Bethany Zeibarth, Sturgis Brown High School; Tea – Megan Ganschow, Tea Area High School; Twin Brooks – Chandler Urban, Waverly-South Shore High School; Vermillion – Savannah Kirsch, Vermillion High School; Katherine Zimmerman, Vermillion High School; Volga – Samantha Jung, Sioux Valley High School; Wagner – Hannah Fleming, Wagner High School; Kaleb Hartley, Wagner High School; Anika Mian, Wagner High School; Andrew Soukup, Wagner High School; Wakpala – Tatanka Hill, Wakpala High School; Watauga – Tia Baumberger, McIntosh High School; Watertown – Ashley Brage, Watertown Senior High School; Kaycee Monnens, Watertown Senior High School; Shyanne Redlin, Watertown Senior High School; Wentworth – Carter Kasuske, Madison High School; Winfred – Illiana Shuck, Howard High School; Winner – Dusti Littau, Winner High School; Worthing – Samantha Hyronimus, Lennox High School; Yankton – Madison Dangler, Yankton High School; Zachariah Lattea, Yankton High School; Johanna Lippert, Yankton High School; Zell – Ashlyn O’Daniel, Redfield High School


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News