Skip to main content

USD announces search committee for provost vice president for academic affairs

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota announced today a 16-member committee that will assist the University in its pursuit to replace Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Chuck Staben, Ph.D., who was named the 18th president of the University of Idaho last month.

Dr. Mary Nettleman, M.D., M.S., M.A.C.P., vice president of health affairs and dean of the Sanford School of Medicine, will serve as committee chairperson. Assisting Dr. Nettleman in the nationwide search for USD’s chief academic officer are Sheila Gestring, vice president of finance; Laura Jenski, Ph.D., vice president of research; Larry Schou, D.M.A., dean of the College of Fine Arts; Jesús Treviño, Ph.D., associate vice president of diversity; Matt Sayre, Ph.D., assistant professor, department of anthropology; Angeline Lavin, Ph.D., C.F.A., professor of finance; Kelly Duncan, Ph.D., associate professor of counselor education; Chris Hutton, USD School of Law; David Moskowitz, Ph.D., professor of music; Dan Van Peursem, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of the mathematical sciences department; Kim Grieve, dean of students; USD students Tyler Tordsen and Savannah Peters; Roberta Hakl, USD Human Resources; and Sally Slama, Academic Affairs staff member.

“The committee is charged with a difficult task as no position at the university carries more significance than the provost and vice president for academic affairs,” said James W. Abbott, USD president. “Finding a first-class academic leader is crucial to USD’s continued success and I’m confident that Dr. Nettleman and the committee will manage the search expeditiously and with prudence.”

The search committee will begin conducting candidate interviews during the 2014 spring semester with the hiring of a new provost likely announced in the summer. Kurt Hackemer, Ph.D., chair of the department of history and associate vice president of academic affairs, will serve as acting provost and vice president for academic affairs following Staben’s departure in February


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News