Skip to main content

Political science professor is recipient of Tremere Faculty Service Award at USD

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Elizabeth (Betty) Smith, Ph.D., associate professor of political science at the University of South Dakota, is the 2014 recipient of the Blair and Linda Tremere Faculty Service Award, which is presented annually to a member of the College of Arts & Sciences faculty who has demonstrated outstanding public service to the local community or to the state of South Dakota.

Smith, the associate director of the Farber Center for Civic Leadership at the University of South Dakota, was recognized for her outstanding public service, most notably with the Vermillion Chamber Development Company and raising money and awareness for Parkinson’s disease research. She teaches courses on American Politics, Public Administration, and the death penalty. In addition to her teaching responsibilities, Smith serves as chair of the Committee on Civic Education and Engagement for the American Political Science Association. A member of the USD faculty since 1998, Smith was the 2004 recipient of the South Dakota “Professor of the Year” Award by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. She received a Ph.D. in political science from the University of Connecticut, an M.S. in criminal justice from the University of New Haven and a B.A. in psychology from Southern Connecticut State University.

A photo of Smith is available for download at

The Blair and Linda (Schuller) Tremere Faculty Service Award was established in 2011 by Blair and Linda Tremere of Golden Valley, encourage and recognize the valuable role that Arts & Sciences faculty play in the lives of their communities and state. All tenure-track and tenured faculty in the College of Arts & Sciences are eligible to receive the award. Linda (Schuller) Tremere is a 1970 alumna from the USD School of Business (B.S., Accounting) and a native of Amherst, S.D. Blair Tremere, a Sioux Falls native, is a 1968 alumnus from the USD College of Arts & Sciences (B.A., Government/Journalism) and also received his M.A. in Public Administration from USD in 1971.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News