Skip to main content

University Center, Sioux Falls announces Craig Johnson as Executive Director

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Craig Johnson, director of Winona State University-Rochester, has been named Executive Director of the University Center, Sioux Falls.

As Executive Director of the University Center, Sioux Falls, Johnson will be responsible for the Center’s leadership and daily operations. With the position administratively attached to the University of South Dakota, he will report directly to USD President James W. Abbott. Johnson’s appointment was announced jointly today by USD and the South Dakota Board of Regents.

“The Regents are pleased to welcome Craig Johnson to our public university system, I look forward to working with him,” said Jack Warner, the regents’ executive director and CEO.

“I am very excited to have Craig Johnson in this leadership role at University Center, Sioux Falls,” stated James W. Abbott, president of the University of South Dakota, part of a consortium of South Dakota’s public universities (USD, Black Hills State, Dakota State, Northern State and South Dakota State) that serve the needs of the Sioux Falls community. “Craig has demonstrated the ability to manage diverse programs and facilitate educational collaborations that will serve him well as executive director of University Center.”

As Winona State University-Rochester Director, Johnson oversaw leadership and management of campus operations. Prior to Winona State University-Rochester, Johnson served for seven years as campus administrator for the West Bend campus of Moraine Park Technical College in southeast Wisconsin. He is in the process of finalizing the requirements for his Ed.D. in graduate studies, which he will receive from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities next year. Johnson also has master’s degrees in art history from Tulane University, and higher education/administration and organization from the University of Minnesota; and a B.S. in art from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News