Skip to main content

USD Sanford School of Medicine welcomes 58 new students to program

White Coat Ceremony

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine has welcomed 58 new, first-year students to its program. The school of medicine’s class of 2018 features 48 students who were residents of South Dakota at the time of their application.

Among the first-year students and their hometowns are:

South Dakota

Bonesteel - TiAnna Vogt; Brandon - Elizabeth Hedman; Britton - Carmen Allock; Brookings - Courtney Heyduk, Sarvesh Kaushik, David Woodard; Castlewood - Allison McEldowney; Dakota Dunes - Tanner Ferguson, Chandler Hunt; Emery - Natalie Mushitz; Harrisburg - Emma Bye, Kellen Mastick; Hot Springs - Kade Klippenstein; Huron - Kevin Hofer; Madison - Anthony Fiegen; Miller - Garett Steers; Mitchell - Leah Rasmussen, Ashley Schmidt; Onida - Ami Garrigan; Pierre - Stephen Bollinger; Rapid City - Benjamin Arbeiter, Elizabeth Westhoff, Nathan Jacobson, Kathryn Kroeger, Julia Nichols, Dane Schroeder, Sharleen Yuan; Selby - Renita Goetz; Sioux Falls - Jennifer Assam, Emma Bacharach, Raeann Bourscheid, Brady Coburn, Sara Free, Amanda Johnson, Jessica Johnson, Kelly Landeen, Kelly McKnight, Susan Metzger, Andrea Petersen, Laura Rasmussen, Kelsey Thies, Nathan Truex, Nicole West, Bethany Zeigler; Tyndall - Marcus Tjeerdsma; Watertown - Max Fuller, Teresa Mallett; Willow Lake - Jennifer Keating; Yankton - Spencer Ferrell, Caitlin Hof


Ketchikan - Adam Fitzgerald


San Francisco - Emma Storm


Rock Rapids - Allie Ladd


New Orleans - Eric Fausch


Hawley - Joran Clute; Minneapolis - Michael Fields


Omaha - Christopher Lucido

New York

New Suffolk - David Christianson

The University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine was established in 1907, and it is the only medical school in South Dakota.  Throughout its long history, the medical school has distinguished itself as a regional and national leader in medical education, rural medicine, research, and innovation.

The institution occupies advanced facilities in Vermillion, S.D. and Sioux Falls, S.D. Class size for incoming first-year medical students will increase to 67 students starting in 2015.


USD's Sanford School of Medicine is nationally known for excellence. With its award-winning curriculum, the school prepares medical students to practice in all fields of medicine and is particularly recognized and ranked for its reputation in family medicine and rural medicine. In addition to the M.D., it offers graduate degrees in basic biomedical science, sustains a vibrant and forward-looking research agenda, and is home to the interdisciplinary Center for Brain and Behavioral Research.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News