Skip to main content

USD Arts and Sciences Dean Advances Humanities Across South Dakota

Image Tim Johnson and Matt Moen Former Sen. Tim Johnson and Matt Moen during Humanities on the Hill in 2014

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Matthew C. Moen, dean of the University of South Dakota's College of Arts & Sciences, has been elected to a two-year term as chairman of the 18-member board of directors of the South Dakota Humanities Council (SDHC). Its signature event is the free annual Festival of Books, which attracts several thousand participants to programs over several days.

Funded mostly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and by private contributions, the South Dakota Humanities Council also delivers cultural programs to dozens of communities around the state each year through book tours, speakers, library and museum events, and major and mini grants to humanities scholars and other cultural organizations.

Moen joined the SDHC in 2011 as one of four gubernatorial appointees to the board. He said he is grateful to Gov. Dennis Daugaard for the chance to serve with other citizen volunteers to promote the public humanities and advance its three-fold mission of celebrating literature, promoting civility and telling the stories that define our state.

“The South Dakota Humanities Council is an organization that cares deeply about the quality of life in our entire state, from our population centers to our reservation communities to our most rural towns,” Moen said. “We work to enrich the lives of our fellow South Dakotans by exposing them to interesting books, prominent authors and challenging ideas. And we try to do so in a quiet and civil way in an often noisy world.”


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News