Skip to main content

USD School of Health Sciences Announces Faculty Awards

The University of South Dakota School of Health Sciences has announced faculty awards for the 2014-2015 school year.

Becca Jordre, DPT, Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Therapy, was recognized for outstanding research. Jordre’s research involved geriatric athletes and the management of urinary incontinence, and she also researched problems related to ergonomics for dental hygiene practitioners.

Kay Rasmussen, M.S., M.L.S. Assistant Professor and Chair of the Department of Medical Laboratory Science, was recognized for her outstanding teaching. Rasmussen’s teaching interests include Hematology and Microbiology.

Laurie Lind, M.S. an instructor in Health Sciences, received the 2015 “Champion of Inclusive Excellence” award from the President’s Council on Diversity and Inclusiveness. Lind’s award noted that she demonstrated outstanding leadership promoting inclusive excellence at USD.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News