Skip to main content

USD’s Kay Rasmussen named President-Elect of statewide laboratory science group

Rasmussen honored again as Omicron Sigma Award recipient

VERMILLION, S.D. – Kay Rasmussen, M.S., M.L.S., Chair of the Medical Laboratory Science department at the University of South Dakota, has been named President-Elect of the South Dakota affiliate of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS-SD).

Rasmussen was also selected the 2015 South Dakota Omicron Sigma Award by ASCLS-SD. This award recognizes Rasmussen’s volunteer service to the laboratory science society, and it marks the second consecutive year she has been honored as the recipient of this award.

The Department of Medical Laboratory Science is one of 10 departments in the University of South Dakota’s School of Health Sciences, the largest, most comprehensive health sciences school in the state.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News