Skip to main content

Young South Dakota Artists To Be Honored At USD

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota Department of Art has announced the regional winners of the nationally prestigious 2015 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.

Forty-two young artists representing 10 different South Dakota middle schools and high schools have been recognized as Gold Key, Silver Key and Honorable Mention winners.

They will be recognized at a ceremony to be held Sunday, March 1, 2015, at 1 p.m. in the Knutson Theatre in the Warren M. Lee Center for the Fine Art on the USD campus. A reception for the artists will begin at noon in the Center’s Gallery 110. Gold Key winning art will be displayed in the gallery.

Guest speakers at the event include Dr. Larry Schou, Dean, USD College of Fine Arts; Virginia McEnerney, Executive Director of the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers; Professor John Banasiak, USD Art Department; and Carol Geu, representing the University of South Dakota as the South Dakota affiliate of the sponsoring national art organization. Professor Banasiak is a former Gold Key winner.

The Alliance for Young Artists and Writers is the national sponsor of regional and national competitions. Categories of art includes painting, sculpture, illustration, photography, mixed media, digital art, drawing, printmaking, ceramics, film and animation, and comic art. Gold Key winning artists will participate in the national competition, held in June in New York City, competing with the winners from 100 regional competitions from around the country.

Started in 1923, the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards is the nation’s longest-running and most important recognition program for creative students in grades 7 – 12. This is the first year for this regional competition and event in South Dakota, and it is sponsored by the Department of Art at the University of South Dakota.

To learn more about the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, visit the Scholastic Media Room online at A complete list of 2015 regional Scholastic Art & Writing Award winners is available online at


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 78 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.

This material is available in an alternate format upon request. Please contact University Relations at 605-677-5759. If you are a person with a disability and need a special accommodation to fully participate in any university activity or event, please contact Disability Services at 605-677-6389 as soon as possible, but no later than 48 hours before the event, so that appropriate arrangements may be made.


Hanna DeLange
USD News