Skip to main content

Eight Colleges to Present at USD's Student History Conference

Student History Conference Historical Image of East Hall

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The University of South Dakota will host its 51st annual Student History Conference on Thursday, April 21, that will bring undergraduates and graduates from around the region to campus.

The conference begins at 9 a.m. in the Muenster University Center ballroom. Students from eight universities will present their research: Creighton University, Northern State University, Morningside College, Southwest Minnesota State University, Wayne State College, Mount Marty College, Augustana University and USD.

Two keynote speakers will also be part of the program: Timothy Brennan, Ph.D., the Samuel Russell Chair in the Humanities at the University of Minnesota, and L. Stephanie Cobb, Ph.D., associate professor of religious studies at Virginia’s University of Richmond. Brennan will speak from 10-11 a.m. and Cobb will present the closing lecture at 3:30 p.m.

“This provides significant exposure to students interested in research and gives them an opportunity to present a paper that they have done exceptional work on,” said Kylie Stevens, a graduate student in history who organized the conference. “I hope, as any historian hopes, that this conference opens up the minds of the listeners. These students represent the future historians that will shape how history will be understood.”

The conference is free, open to the public and sponsored by Phi Alpha Theta, the national honor society. To participate, students must first be nominated by a professor who sees not only potential for their research to have long-lasting impact but also a passion for history and the importance of its continued study.


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News