Skip to main content

Koodali Elected Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry

Image Ranjit Koodali Ranjit Koojali, USD chemistry professor and graduate school dean, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry in the United Kingdom.

VERMILLION, S.D. – Ranjit Koodali, Ph.D., dean of the University of South Dakota Graduate School and professor of chemistry has been named a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), a scientific professional society based in the United Kingdom with more than 54,000 members.

Koodali joins more than 700 foreign members from the United States and is the first FRSC from the Dakotas.

“It is truly an honor to become a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry. This recognition is a reflection of the excellent research facilities available in the chemistry department and of the high productivity and quality of the undergraduate and graduate students who have contributed substantially to the discipline," said Koodali, an associate editor for "RSC Advances," an international peer-reviewed journal in chemical sciences.

Koodali’s research focuses on the application of nanomaterials for solar energy conversion, environmental remediation, energy storage and drug delivery. He joined USD in 2005 and become a full professor and dean of the USD Graduate School in 2016.

RSC is a not-for-profit organization, founded in 1841, with a mission to advance excellence in chemical sciences. The designation fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry is given to elected fellows who have made significant contributions to the chemical sciences. The names of newly elected fellows are published each year in The Times (London).


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News