Skip to main content

Lab Science Society Honors USD Leader and Student

Image Kay Rasmussen Kay Rasmussen

VERMILLION, S.D. -- Kay Rasmussen, M.S., M.L.S., chair of the University of South Dakota’s Medical Laboratory Department, was recently honored by the South Dakota chapter of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science with a Omicron Sigma Award.

It recognizes a South Dakotan who has given outstanding service to benefit the society for clinical laboratory science. This is the third consecutive year that Rasmussen has been given the award.

The society also honored Wes Bonham, a student in the USD medical laboratory program, with a “key to the future” award and a student scholarship. He was recognized for his demonstration of leadership potential to the society and for his academic and professional achievement.


USD’s School of Health Sciences is a national leader in interprofessional health sciences education. South Dakota’s comprehensive School of Health Sciences develops scholars, practitioners and leaders in health and human services, including addiction counselors, dental hygienists, health science practitioners, medical laboratory scientists, nurses, occupational therapists, physical therapists, physician assistants, public health practitioners and social workers.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News