Skip to main content

Students and Faculty Honored at President's Celebration of University Leadership

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The division of student services, in collaboration with the president’s office, at the University of South Dakota recently honored campus leaders with awards from both academic and non-academic departments.

Students and faculty were recognized for their outstanding devotion to leadership and inclusive excellence in the USD community. The 31 awards, sponsoring departments and winners:

  • “Best in Show” Stilwell Art Competition; College of Fine Arts; Jacob Dugas
  • School of Education Outstanding Leadership; School of Education; Khorey Kilgore, Paige Wright, Matthew Beeler
  • Dean Joseph H. Cash Award for Excellence in Writing; College of Arts & Sciences; Thorn Dramstad, Nicco LaMattina, Bailey Quanbeck
  • John W. Carlson Research Grant; College of Arts & Sciences; Gretchen Newberry, Thorn Dramstad, Bailey Quanbeck
  • Gary and Judy Marx Servant Leadership; College of Arts & Sciences; Jessica Romero
  • School of Health Sciences Student Leader; School of Health Sciences; Tyler Hemmingson, Charles Wade Johnson
  • Student Ambassador of the Year; Admissions; Morgan Hartenstein, Kelsey Johnson
  • New Student Leader of the Year; Student Life/Awards Committee; Lucas Lund
  • Dave Lorenz Senior Leadership; Student Life; Sarah Kuegle
  • Unsung Leader; Student Life/Awards Committee; Kyle Minske
  • Outstanding Diversity and Leadership; Student Life/Awards Committee; Naveen Rokkam
  • Outstanding Leadership and Service; Student Life/Awards Committee; Joshua Arens
  • Service Learning Advocate; Student Life/Awards Committee; Shane Hansen
  • Community Spirit; Student Life/Awards Committee; Mackenzie Huber
  • Graduate Student Leadership; Student Life/Awards Committee; Sunav Shrestha
  • Fraternity President of the Year; Student Life/Sorority & Fraternity Life; Nathan Christensen
  • Sorority President of the Year; Student Life/Sorority & Fraternity Life; Sarah Barthel
  • Resident Assistant of the Year; Student Life/Housing; Toni Kafton
  • University Housing Leadership Award; Student Life/Housing; Ben Deverman
  • Hall of the Year; Student Life/Housing; Beede/Mickelson
  • Champions of Inclusiveness Excellence; President’s Council on Diversity and Inclusiveness; Sara Lampert, Lena Tran, Dana Vandenberg
  • Outstanding Advisor of the Year; Student Life (nominated by students); Leslie Pusey
  • South Dakota Board of Regents Award for Organizational Leadership; Student Life/BOR; AWOL
  • South Dakota Board of Regents Award for Academic Excellence; Student Life/BOR; Kappa Alpha Theta
  • South Dakota Board of Regents Award for Community Service; Student Life/BOR; Colleges Against Cancer
  • Fraternity of the Year; Student Life/Sorority & Fraternity Life; PIKE
  • Sorority of the Year; Student Life/Sorority & Fraternity Life; Kappa Alpha Theta
  • Outstanding Intramural Participants of the Year; Student Services/Wellness Center; Matt Buescher, Alyssa Krug
  • Spirit of Charlie; Marketing Communications & University Relations; Diane Wirth, Mackenzie Huber
  • Mosaic Award for Inclusive Excellence; Center for Diversity and Community; Prakriti Rajbhandari, Laura Vidler
  • Leadership Seminar Series Participants; Student Life; Alise Wagner, Amirah Michaeli, Caitlyn Deignan, Caleb Wenz, Falmata Gishe, Jon Gray, Kailash Koruprolu, Kevin Nam, Shiva Gaddameedi, Sudarshan Paul Rayapalli, Nicole Warns, Katelyn Troastle


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News