Skip to main content

Teaching Major Earns NEA Leadership Position in DC

Image Paige Wright Paige Wright, a USD education student from Brandon, South Dakota, was elected to a National Education Association student committee.

WASHINGTON -- A University of South Dakota student has been elected to serve on a National Education Association (NEA) student committee.

Paige Wright, from Brandon, South Dakota, is pursuing her undergraduate degree in secondary history education. Serving as the South Dakota Education Association student president, Wright was invited to attend this year’s National Education Association Student Leadership and Professional Issues Conference and Representative Assembly in Washington, which took place June 29-July 7.

At the conference, Wright campaigned for one of the three available seats on the NEA Student Resolutions Committee, which included presenting a two-minute speech and Q&A in front of more than 400 student leaders and NEA executive staff members. As a member of the resolutions committee, Paige will have the opportunity to meet with other elected representatives to discuss, review and, if needed, update NEA resolutions and later propose recommendations at the annual representative assembly.

Wright is also the recent recipient of the Mrs. Schaefer's Scholarship, a $1,000 award that helps a driven junior or senior collegiate student who exemplifies selfless dedication to others.

 Download a high resolution image: Paige Wright, a USD education student from Brandon, South Dakota, was elected to a National Education Association student committee.


USD's School of Education is transformative in preparing students both inside and outside the classroom. Its research- and practitioner-based programs train future educators, counselors, leaders, fitness and sport-related professionals for successful careers. The school focuses on a comprehensive learning experience, lifelong learning and developing professionals grounded in best practice. The school’s divisions include counseling and psychology, curriculum and instruction, educational leadership, kinesiology and sport management, and teacher residency and education.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News