Skip to main content

Three Staffers Recognized for Work With Students

Image Kimberly Grieve, Nick Bratvold and Laura Roof Kimberly Grieve, Nick Bratvold and Laura Roof received awards from the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators.

VERMILLION, S.D. -- One of the nation’s top student affairs professional organizations has honored three University of South Dakota staff members for their contributions to campus.

Kimberly Grieve, Ph.D., vice president of student services and dean of students, received the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) IV-W James J. Rhatigan Outstanding Dean Award, given to a senior student affairs officer in the West region.

Laura Roof, sorority and fraternity life director, received the NASPA IV-W Rising Star New Professional Award, given to one person in the state.

And Nick Bratvold, a graduate student in the adult and higher education program, was awarded the NASPA IV-W Rising Star Award for Graduate Students, given to a graduate student from each state who plans to pursue a career in student affairs.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News