Skip to main content

USD Division of Accounting & Finance Honors Professor, Alumni and Students

VERMILLION, S.D. – Three alumni and a professor in the Division of Accounting & Finance at the Beacom School of Business have received service awards, along with 29 students who received top performance awards.

Deidre Budahl, Accounting ’02, M.B.A. ’07, a partner with Casey Peterson & Associates of Rapid City, South Dakota, was honored for outstanding service. She has been active in the South Dakota C.P.A. Society, volunteered in support of the arts and served on the board of Rapid City Regional Hospital. She helped launch the USD Summer Accounting Institute and returns to campus to mentor students.

Karen Davies, Accounting ’84, M.P.A ’89, has worked for 25 years with the University of South Dakota Foundation and is currently vice president and CFO. She was a full-time accounting instructor at the Beacom School of Business and also has taught as an adjunct in recent years. Her previous experience includes Hawkeye Bancorporation in Des Moines, Iowa, and McGladrey & Pullen, LLP in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Angeline Lavin, B.S. ’93, M.B.A. ’96, earned her Ph.D. in finance from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She taught for 18 years at USD before moving into private practice as a financial advisor at RBC Wealth Management in Sioux Falls. She has served on the South Dakota Investment Council and the Sioux Falls City Employee’s Pension Board, Sioux Falls Community Foundation, board of directors for Wellmark, Inc. and the Malcolm Baldrige Foundation Investment Committee. She is currently on the USD Foundation Board.

The Distinguished Service Award went to Leon Korte, long-time accounting professor. Korte received his undergraduate degree from Northwestern (Iowa) College in 1975, an M.B.A. from Ohio University in 1979 and a Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1992. He taught at Wayne State College in Nebraska and at the University of Nebraska-Omaha before joining the faculty at USD in 1992. In addition to work experience in auditing and consulting, Korte’s research interest is rural banking. He directs the Institute for Rural Banking, which is partially funded by the South Dakota Bankers Association.

Students receiving top performance awards:

  • Hope Erickson, Akron, Iowa
  • Wesley Hanson, Brandon, South Dakota
  • Clark Haugen, Crooks, South Dakota
  • Spencer Hopkins, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Ji Young Hur, Seoul, South Korea
  • Connor Jallo, Pierre, South Dakota
  • Samantha Villwock, Lake Villa, Illinois
  • Payton Larsen, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Natalie Nulle, Manning, Iowa
  • Roma Trivedi, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Conrad Adam, Pierre, South Dakota
  • Charles Frizzell, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Dalton Hoekstra, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Kristi Johnson, Montrose, South Dakota
  • Trenton Klimper, Vermillion, South Dakota
  • Jessica McAllister, Sioux City, Iowa
  • Mitchell Merkwan, Tyndall, South Dakota
  • Alexandra Olson, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Jessica Sandbulte, Steen, Minnesota
  • Stanton Zaczek, Lemont, Illinois
  • Bruce Biegler, Timber Lake, South Dakota
  • Hyun Woong Chang, Seoul, South Korea
  • Tanner Comp, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Natalie Gubbels, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Toni Kafton, Mapleton, Iowa
  • Brittany Norris, Moville, Iowa
  • Sarah Ridley, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Carrie Wintle, Iroquois, South Dakota


USD's Beacom School of Business was established in 1927 and has been accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) since 1949. The leading business school in the region, Beacom’s programs are consistently ranked among the top business schools in the nation by Princeton Review, U.S. News & World Report and others for its high-quality learning experience, student success, affordability, and high-caliber of faculty and students. Whether a student chooses face-to-face or online courses, Beacom’s programs emphasize real-world experience through professional organizations, quality internships and capstone projects.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.