Skip to main content

Dean's Ambassadors Named for Beacom School of Business

Photo of 2017-2018 Dean 2017-2018 Dean's Ambassadors.

VERMILLION, S.D. – The University of South Dakota Beacom School of Business announced fourteen students as Dean’s Ambassadors for the 2017-18 school year. These students are selected by the Dean and have demonstrated exemplary academic and leadership qualities. Dean’s Ambassadors serve as student advisors and represent Beacom at alumni and business functions, both on and off campus.

“This group of ambassadors was selected because each student represents the culture of excellence we have established at Beacom.” said Dean Venky Venkatachalam. “These students are a talented team who display superior leadership and academic skills that makes the Beacom School of Business unique.”

Jared Waltz, a senior finance major from Sioux Falls served as an ambassador last year and will be returning for the current year. Waltz said, “Being able to work alongside the Beacom School of Business leadership at the highest level toward the goal of bettering our institution is a tremendous opportunity and a genuine privilege.”

Ashlynn Blenner, a joint BBA/MBA student from Holstein, Iowa, said, “Serving as a Dean's Ambassador allows me to communicate with other high-performing business school students and provide input about how to make the business school better.”

The 2017-18 ambassadors:

Ashlynn Blenner, Finance, Holstein, Iowa
Madelin Klamm, Marketing, Valley Springs, South Dakota
Katie Petry, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Ada, Minnesota
Ryan Scholten, Finance, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Shinyoung Kim, Marketing and Economics, South Korea
Kelsey Berger, Health Services Administration, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Noah Thompson, Accounting, Mitchell, South Dakota
Jared Waltz, Finance, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Conrad Adam, Finance, Pierre, South Dakota
Rachelle Moore, Business Administration, Vermillion, South Dakota
Cody Davis, Finance, Carroll, Iowa
Payton Larsen, Finance, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Tomas Kamenik, Accounting, Prague
Ji Hur, Accounting, South Korea

Download a photo. (Ambassadors identified by row. Row one: Ashlynn Blenner, Katie Petry; row two: Jared Waltz, Conrad Adam, Ji Hur, Kelsey Berger, Shinyoung Kim; row three: Madelin Klamm, Rachelle Moore, Dean Venky Venkatachalam, Cody Davis; row four: Ryan Scholten, Tomas Kamenik, Payton Larsen, Noah Thompson)


USD's Beacom School of Business was established in 1927 and has been accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) since 1949. The leading business school in the region, Beacom’s programs are consistently ranked among the top business schools in the nation by Princeton Review, U.S. News & World Report and others for its high-quality learning experience, student success, affordability, and high-caliber of faculty and students. Whether a student chooses face-to-face or online courses, Beacom’s programs emphasize real-world experience through professional organizations, quality internships and capstone projects.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News