Skip to main content

Kruger Named Dean of College of Arts & Sciences

Photo of Michael Kruger. Michael B. Kruger, Ph.D., has been named the new dean of the College of Arts & Sciences and Lohre Distinguished Professor at USD.

VERMILLION, S.D. – The University of South Dakota announced the appointment of Michael B. Kruger, Ph.D., as the new dean of the College of Arts & Sciences and Lohre Distinguished Professor.

“USD is thrilled to have someone of Dr. Kruger’s stature join our faculty and administrative team,” said Jim Moran, USD Provost. “He brings a wealth of experience working across disciplines, with high schools and internationally that will position the College of Arts & Sciences and USD for future success.”

Prior to joining USD, Kruger served as the Associate Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at the University of Missouri-Kansas City since 2013. He served as Chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy for nine years and Interim Chair of the Department of Geosciences for two years. Kruger was awarded highest and most prestigious academic rank, Curators’ Professor in 2010 and won the UM System President’s Award for Leadership in 2015. He joined the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 1993, and earned his master’s and doctorate degrees in physics from the University of California at Berkeley and bachelor’s degree in physics from the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Kruger's hiring is the result of a national search that occurred following the departure of previous Dean Matthew Moen who left USD to become president of the Gettysburg Foundation.

“We would also like to acknowledge and thank Dr. Kurt Hackemer who served as Interim Dean College of Arts & Sciences over the past few months,” said Moran. “We look forward to welcoming Dr. Kruger to USD and the Vermillion community when he begins working on campus July 31.”


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News