Skip to main content

Nettleman Elected to AAMC Board of Directors

Photo of Mary Nettleman. Dr. Mary Nettleman has been elected to the Board of Directors of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

VERMILLION, S.D. – Mary Nettleman, M.D., M.S., M.A.C.P., Vice President of Health Affairs and Dean of the Sanford School of Medicine at the University of South Dakota, has been elected to the board of directors of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

“I deeply respect and value the work of the AAMC, and I am truly honored to join the Board of Directors,” said Nettleman. “This is a time of change in medicine. The AAMC works to ensure that the patient is at the center of reform efforts, and that academic medicine is positioned to improve the health of all. I look forward to my new duties.”

Nettleman's appointment to the AAMC board is effective beginning November 2017.

The board of directors provides fiduciary and strategic oversight and direction to the work of the AAMC, a not-for-profit organization that is dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care, and groundbreaking medical research. AAMC, founded in 1876, is comprised of all 147 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and more than 80 academic and scientific societies. AAMC represents 148,000 faculty members, 83,000 medical students, and 115,000 resident physicians.


USD's Sanford School of Medicine is nationally known for excellence. With its award-winning curriculum, the school prepares medical students to practice in all fields of medicine and is particularly recognized and ranked for its reputation in family medicine and rural medicine. In addition to the M.D., it offers graduate degrees in basic biomedical science, sustains a vibrant and forward-looking research agenda, and is home to the interdisciplinary Center for Brain and Behavioral Research.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News