Skip to main content

School of Law Hosts ABA Client Counseling Competition

VERMILLION, S.D. – The University of South Dakota School of Law will host the ABA Region 8 Client Counseling Competition Saturday, Feb. 4.

The competition, administered by the USD Law Alternative Dispute Resolution Board, will feature teams from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Law, Drake University Law School and Washburn University School of Law.

Attorneys from South Dakota and Iowa will judge the competing law students on the basis of their efficacy in counseling the clients, who will be portrayed by USD students from the theatre department, mock trial team and the Law School. Students are called on to explain various aspects of the attorney-client relationship, build rapport, determine client goals and consider applicable law and options that may be available to the client.


USD’s Knudson School of Law prepares students for leadership in the administration of justice in South Dakota, including in rural areas where the demand is great, and for private practice, public service, business and other law-related endeavors anywhere. Its joint degree program allows students to also earn one of nine master’s degrees within the traditional three-year law curriculum, which includes course tracks in business, commercial, constitutional, criminal, employment, environmental, Indian, real estate and tax law as well as civil litigation and estate planning.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.