Skip to main content

South Dakota Chapter of National Medical Honor Society Inducts New Members

Two basic biomedical sciences students working in lab. The South Dakota chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society hosted its 40th annual installation banquet May 4, 2017.  

VERMILLION, S.D. – The South Dakota chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society inducted 14 new members from the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine at its 40th annual installation banquet May 4, 2017.

Five students from the medical school’s Class of 2017 were elected including Peter Chang and Joshua Rezkalla of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, Kirstin Hockhausen of Rapid City, South Dakota, Trevor Kindle of Yankton, South Dakota and John Person of Hartford, South Dakota. Five students from the Class of 2018 were also elected including David Christianson of New Suffolk, New York, Nathan Jacobson and Dane Schroeder of Rapid City, South Dakota, Ashley Schmidt of Mitchell, South Dakota and Garett Steers of Miller, South Dakota.

The chapter also inducted pediatric professor Dr. Joseph Zenel, Jr., alumni Dr. John Hallenbeck and Dr. Byron Nielsen and medical resident Dr. Natalie Dvorak.

Alpha Omega Alpha is the only national honor medical society in the world. It recognizes and perpetuates excellence in the medical profession and honors high standards of character and conduct among medical students, faculty and medical graduates. AOA specifically recognizes high academic achievement among students selected, as well as gifted teaching and leadership in academia and the community. AOA also supports the ideals of humanism and service to others.


USD's Sanford School of Medicine is nationally known for excellence. With its award-winning curriculum, the school prepares medical students to practice in all fields of medicine and is particularly recognized and ranked for its reputation in family medicine and rural medicine. In addition to the M.D., it offers graduate degrees in basic biomedical science, sustains a vibrant and forward-looking research agenda, and is home to the interdisciplinary Center for Brain and Behavioral Research.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News