Skip to main content

Special Law School Task Force to Hold Meeting August 7

Photo of Law School. The Special Law School Task Force will host its first meeting Aug. 7 on the University of South Dakota campus.

VERMILLION, S.D. – The Special Law School Task Force will host its first meeting Aug. 7 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Al Neuharth Media Center conference room on the University of South Dakota campus.

The task force was formed to consider whether relocating the state’s only law school would be in the best interest of the students, the University, and the State of South Dakota. Rep. Mark Mickelson, R-Sioux Falls, will chair the Special Law School Task Force.

Twelve additional members including students and faculty members have been appointed. They are:
- Harvey Jewett, Regent Emeritus, South Dakota Board of Regents
- Conrad Adam, Student Regent, South Dakota Board of Regents
- John Bastian, Regent, South Dakota Board of Regents
- David Gilbertson, Chief Justice, South Dakota Supreme Court
- Julie Greenfield, Attorney, Gallardo Trust Company
- Glen Herrick, EVP and CFO, Meta Financial Group
- Christine Hutton, Professor, USD School of Law
- Mark Meierhenry, Attorney, Meierhenry Sargent, LLP
- Bob Morris, Attorney, Day Morris Law Firm
- Morgan Nelson, President, USD Student Bar Association
- Jennifer Trucano, CEO, Rapid City Medical Center
- Nate Welch, Executive Director, Vermillion Chamber & Development Corporation

There will be an opportunity for public testimony. The task force encourages those interested in testifying to submit their questions and testimony in advance of the meeting to

For updates, meeting times and information on the task force visit the USD Law School Task Force page at



USD’s Knudson School of Law prepares students for leadership in the administration of justice in South Dakota, including in rural areas where the demand is great, and for private practice, public service, business and other law-related endeavors anywhere. Its joint degree program allows students to also earn one of nine master’s degrees within the traditional three-year law curriculum, which includes course tracks in business, commercial, constitutional, criminal, employment, environmental, Indian, real estate and tax law as well as civil litigation and estate planning.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News