Skip to main content

USD Hosts University of Texas at Austin Professor for 61st Haines Lecture Nov. 6

Photo of Eric Anslyn, Haines lecturer keynote speaker. Eric Anslyn from the University of Texas at Austin will deliver the 61st annual Haines Lecture.

VERMILLION, S.D. – Eric V. Anslyn, Ph.D., the Welch Regents Chair of Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin, will present the 61st Haines Lecture at the University of South Dakota on Monday, Nov. 6. The lecture is titled “Three Tales of Supramolecular Analytical Chemistry.”

Anslyn’s research involves the use of physical organic chemistry principles in the development of enzyme mimics and synthetic receptors. Most recently, these receptors have been used to create practical molecular sensors. He has been recognized with a variety of research and teaching awards, including: Izatt-Christensen Award in Supramolecular Chemistry, The Czarnik Award, the ACS Edward Leete Award, the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award, and the Jean Holliday Award. He is a co-author on the textbook “Modern Physical Organic Chemistry.”

Anslyn received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from California State University Northridge and his doctorate in organic chemistry at the California Institute of Technology. He was a National Science Foundation post-doctoral fellow at Columbia University between 1987 and 1989, starting his independent career at UT Austin in 1989.

The lecture begins at 6 p.m. in Churchill Haines 118. It is free and open to the public.

The Haines Lecture is sponsored by the USD Department of Chemistry and the Dr. Charles R. Estee Fund. The Haines Lecture was established in 1956 in honor of Arthur Lee Haines, a member of the USD Department of Chemistry for 71 years.


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News