Skip to main content

Dean's Ambassadors Named for Beacom School of Business

Beacom School of Business Dean Beacom School of Business Dean's Ambassadors. Back row (left to right): Logan Schiebout, Noah Thompson, Ryan Scholten, Gage Hillberg, Jace Jerome, Macy Halverson. Front row (left to right): Bridget Geerts, Ashlynn Blenner, Katie Petry, Hannah Johnson, Kelsey Berger, Tam Le, Shinyoung Kim.

VERMILLION, S.D. – The University of South Dakota’s Beacom School of Business announced the thirteen students that have been selected for the 2018-19 class of Dean’s Ambassadors.

Students selected to become Dean’s Ambassadors must have an outstanding academic and leadership record and demonstrate excellent leadership and communication skills. This distinguished and diverse group of students will represent Beacom in various capacities and venues.

“This year’s team of ambassadors is made up of students with exemplary academic and leadership credentials,” said Venky Venkatachalam, Ph.D., Dean of the Beacom School of Business. “I look forward to working alongside them as we continue to advance the reputation and image of the Beacom School of Business.”

Logan Schiebout, an accounting student from Orange City, Iowa, said, “Being a Dean’s Ambassador allows me to continue to build the USD network and will allow alumni and business professionals to continue to see the quality of students that come through the Beacom School of Business at the University of South Dakota.”

Tam Le, an accounting student from Vietnam said, “Becoming a Dean’s Ambassador provides me with a golden opportunity to develop my leadership and illustrate our campus diversity to domestic students and the community outside of campus. I am committed to representing the Beacom School of Business by living up to the values of responsibility and accountability.”

The 2018-19 Dean’s Ambassadors:

  • Kelsey Berger, Health Services Administration, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Ashlynn Blenner, Finance, Holstein, Iowa
  • Bridget Geerts, Economics, Long Lake, Minnesota
  • Macy Halverson, Marketing and Operational Analytics, Pierre, South Dakota
  • Gage Hillberg, Finance and Operational Analytics, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Jace Jerome, Business Administration, Pierre, South Dakota
  • Hannah Johnson, Finance, Springfield, Minnesota
  • Shinyoung Kim, Marketing and Economics, South Korea
  • Tam Le, Accounting, Vietnam
  • Katie Petry, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Ada, Minnesota
  • Logan Schiebout, Accounting, Orange City, Iowa
  • Ryan Scholten, Finance, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Noah Thompson, Accounting, Mitchell, South Dakota

Download a high-resolution photo.


USD's Beacom School of Business was established in 1927 and has been accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) since 1949. The leading business school in the region, Beacom’s programs are consistently ranked among the top business schools in the nation by Princeton Review, U.S. News & World Report and others for its high-quality learning experience, student success, affordability, and high-caliber of faculty and students. Whether a student chooses face-to-face or online courses, Beacom’s programs emphasize real-world experience through professional organizations, quality internships and capstone projects.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News