Skip to main content

USD to Host John R. Milton Writers' Conference

Milton Conference 2018 The John R. Milton Writers' Conference takes place Oct. 25-27. Photo credit; Abby Bischoff.

VERMILLION, S.D. -- The John R. Milton Writers’ Conference takes place Oct. 25-27 at the University of South Dakota. The conference theme is “This Lonely Frontier: Exploring Boundaries of Space, Identity and Genre,” in honor of the 50th anniversary of Milton’s poetry collection, “This Lonely House.”

The conference showcases a roster of award-winning authors, as well as a series of creative and critical panels comprised of writers and scholars from across the nation.

"The Milton Committee and English Department are excited to have such outstanding authors and artists presenting work at the 2018 Milton Writers' Conference,” said Leah McCormack, assistant professor of creative writing in the USD Department of English.

“From comics artist Ellen Forney's talk on her New York Times bestselling graphic memoir ‘Marbles’ and its companion book ‘Rock Steady’ and Abby Bischoff's photography exhibit, to readings by great American novelist and author of nearly 30 books Percival Everett, as well as award-winning authors Erika T. Wurth and Karen Salyer McElmurray, this year's conference is sure to appeal to a wide array of attendees," McCormack said.

The biennial John R. Milton Writers' Conference was established in 1998 to celebrate the life and work of USD English professor and South Dakota Review founder John R. Milton. The conference pays tribute to Milton's lifelong engagement with and commitment to Western writers and literature. This unique conference celebrates both regional and national literary culture.

Support for the 2018 John R. Milton Writers' Conference is provided by grants from the South Dakota Humanities Council, an affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities, and funds from the State of South Dakota, through the Department of Tourism and the National Endowment for the Arts.

For more information, see



USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News