Skip to main content

Medical Honor Society Inducts USD Sanford School of Medicine Students, Residents, Faculty and Alumni

"" Inductees of Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society were joined by several members of the 2018 class of inductees.

VERMILLION, S.D. – The South Dakota chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society has inducted 16 new members from the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine.

Five students from the medical school’s Class of 2019 were inducted, including:

  • Brody Brisk of Rapid City, South Dakota
  • Skye Lawlor of Rapid City, South Dakota
  • Nicholas Goodhope of Sturgis, South Dakota
  • Keegan Mechels of Lennox, South Dakota
  • Abby Wegehaupt of Dimock, South Dakota

Six students from the Class of 2020 were also inducted, including:

  • Matthew Bell of Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Charissa Etrheim of Brandon, South Dakota
  • Kenzie Lee of Brookings, South Dakota
  • Eric Mehlhaff of Hartford, South Dakota
  • Cody Ness of Hendricks, Minnesota
  • Ethan Pauley of Vale, South Dakota

The chapter also inducted family medicine professor Dr. Charles Shafer, alumni Dr. Eric Klawiter and Dr. Matthew Barker, cardiovascular disease fellow Dr. Maheedhar Gedela and psychiatry medical resident Dr. Veronica Radigan.

AOA is the only national honor medical society in the world. It recognizes and encourages excellence in the medical profession and honors high standards of character and conduct among medical students, faculty and medical graduates. AOA specifically recognizes high academic achievement among students selected, as well as gifted teaching and leadership in academia and the community. AOA also supports the ideals of humanism and service to others.


USD's Sanford School of Medicine is nationally known for excellence. With its award-winning curriculum, the school prepares medical students to practice in all fields of medicine and is particularly recognized and ranked for its reputation in family medicine and rural medicine. In addition to the M.D., it offers graduate degrees in basic biomedical science, sustains a vibrant and forward-looking research agenda, and is home to the interdisciplinary Center for Brain and Behavioral Research.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News