Skip to main content

South Dakota Public Universities Move Rest of Semester Online

PIERRE, S.D. – As COVID-19 further impacts this state and region, the South Dakota Board of Regents, and the six public universities and two special schools it governs, must adjust operations accordingly.

Effective immediately, all public university courses will continue by remote delivery through the remainder of the spring semester. Face-to-face instruction will not resume. The spring 2020 semester is scheduled to end May 8.

Students attending South Dakota School for the Blind & Visually Impaired will work with teachers remotely through Friday, May 1, consistent with state directives for other K-12 schools. Outreach visits have been suspended at both SDSBVI and South Dakota School for the Deaf. Audiology clinics will be closed until further notice.

Because state officials anticipate an increase in COVID-19 infections, presidents at all South Dakota public university campuses have made the difficult decision to postpone spring 2020 commencement ceremonies. Further details will be shared as new plans are confirmed.

The public universities’ priority is to ensure that instruction continues through the remainder of the spring semester. No tuition or fees will be adjusted unless a student withdraws completely from the university on or before March 28, or the institution is unable to deliver a course online.

Students may qualify for credits to their accounts in the following areas:

  • 50% housing credit, except for those students approved for emergency housing at the close of the extended spring break;
  • Pro-rated credit for meal plans not utilized and full credit on unused flex dollars;
  • Pro-rated credit for parking permits, equal to 50% of the spring semester.

Please refer to university-specific news releases and websites to stay up to date on the status of campus operations.

The South Dakota Board of Regents is the constitutional governing body for Black Hills State University, Dakota State University, Northern State University, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, South Dakota State University, University of South Dakota, South Dakota School for the Blind & Visually Impaired, and South Dakota School for the Deaf.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News