Skip to main content

Head Start Applications Available for Fall 2021

VERMILLION, S.D. – The University of South Dakota Head Start is accepting applications for fall placement in their preschool classrooms. Children ages 3 and 4 (as of Sept. 1, 2021) in Clay, Lincoln, Turner and Union Counties are eligible to apply for this no-cost preschool program.

Head Start takes pride in providing the highest quality early childhood programming with qualified teaching staff, nutritious meals and snacks, and structured routines with lessons based on the creative curriculum.

Preschool Options include the following.

  • Beresford – Part-day preschool classroom
  • Canton  Part-day preschool classroom
  • Dakota Valley (North Sioux City)  Extended day or part-day options available
  • Harrisburg  Extended day or part-day options available
  • Tea  Extended day or part-day preschool classroom options
  • Vermillion  Extended day, part-day and full-day/full year options available
  • Home Based Option  Available in some rural community areas; please call for more information

Additionally, expectant women and families with young children birth to age 3 may be able to participate in our home-based early head start program.

To apply, please call the USD Head Start office at 800-813-8132 or visit the Head Start website to download an application at Income and other eligibility restrictions may apply. The program has flexibility with a limited number of over income spots available. The USD Head Start encourages everyone to apply.

This year marks 43 years that USD has sponsored the Head Start grant for programming through the Office of Head Start under the Department of Health and Human Services. Families participating in Head Start receive comprehensive services including education, family support, nutrition, health, dental and mental health. Additional services include the early head start in-home educational program for expectant parents and families with children from birth to age 3. USD Head Start serves Clay, Lincoln, Union and Turner counties in Southeast South Dakota.


USD's School of Education is transformative in preparing students both inside and outside the classroom. Its research- and practitioner-based programs train future educators, counselors, leaders, fitness and sport-related professionals for successful careers. The school focuses on a comprehensive learning experience, lifelong learning and developing professionals grounded in best practice. The school’s divisions include counseling and psychology, curriculum and instruction, educational leadership, kinesiology and sport management, and teacher residency and education.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News