Skip to main content

USD Dean Hosts Panel of Former Council of Colleges of Arts and Sciences Presidents in DC

Matt Moen Matthew Moen

WASHINGTON -- As part of the celebration of its 50th anniversary, the Council of Colleges of Arts and Sciences (CCAS) will feature a panel of its past presidents that is chaired by Matthew C. Moen, dean of the University of South Dakota College of Arts & Sciences and Lohre Distinguished Professor at USD. Moen was CCAS president in 2007-2008.

Entitled “CCAS Past Presidents Reflect on the Challenges Facing Liberal Education,” the panel consists of five former presidents over several decades. Moen will facilitate a conversation about the current state and the future of the liberal arts and sciences in American higher education.

CCAS consists of approximately 1,700 members from 515 colleges and universities. The 50th anniversary celebration takes place at the CCAS annual meeting Nov. 4-7 in Washington.


USD's College of Arts & Sciences offers students a top-notch undergraduate liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and sciences as well as graduate programs that have earned USD distinction as a research university by the Carnegie Foundation. The college's more than 22,000 alumni include famous journalists, Hollywood screenwriters, novelists, a Nobel Prize winner, South Dakota governors, attorneys, physicians, justices of the state Supreme Court, distinguished university faculty and international humanitarians.


Founded in 1862 and the first university in the Dakotas, the University of South Dakota is the only public liberal arts university in the state, with 202 undergraduate and 84 graduate programs in the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Education, Knudson School of Law, Sanford School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, Beacom School of Business and College of Fine Arts. With an enrollment of nearly 10,000 students and more than 400 faculty, USD has a 16:1 student/faculty ratio, and it ranks among the best in academics and affordability. USD’s 18 athletic programs compete at the NCAA Division I level.


Hanna DeLange
USD News