More than 230 middle school and high school students from dozens of schools will be competing in several events. The top teams from each division will be invited to the 2011 National Science Olympiad Tournament in May. In addition to the science competitions, open house activities will be featured on campus throughout the day, including demonstrations by Sanford Research and the U.S. Army.

South Dakota schools participating in this year’s event at USD include Bennett County High School (Martin), Brookings High School, Deuel Middle and High Schools (Clear Lake), Gayville-Volin Middle and High Schools, Great Plains Lutheran High School (Watertown), Madison Middle School, Mickelson Middle School (Brookings), Mitchell High School, Sacred Heart Middle School (Yankton), Spearfish Middle and High Schools, Timber Lake Middle School, Todd County High School (Mission), Tri-Valley High School (Colton), Vermillion Middle School, and Yankton Middle and High School.

All events for the Science Olympiad are determined at the national level. For the state tournament, faculty, staff, and students from USD organize and judge these events. The schedule with a list of events is located on the USD Web site at For a brief description of the events, please visit the national Web site at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website