Open to high school sophomores and juniors interested in pursuing careers in accounting or majoring in business, students earned one college credit with the successful completion of the Summer Accounting Institute. Students completing the five-day institute were: Ashlyn O’Daniel and Zoe Cosato of Redfield, S.D.; Lauren Schmidt of Deshler, Neb.; Megan Erickson of Montrose, S.D.; Bobbie-Jo O’Neil of Balaton, Minn.; Shelby Riggs and Noah Thompson of Mitchell, S.D.; Mark Ahlers and Christopher Jansen of Sheldon, Iowa; Kyran Medicine Eagle of Chamberlain, S.D.; Lydia Homandberg of Slayton, Minn.; Teddy Beth McMahon of Wisner, Neb.; Raina David of Mount Vernon, Iowa; Melissa Gunnink, Gavin Salonen, Lucas Hoffman and Cole Harder of Sioux Falls, S.D.; Hannah Person of Polk, Neb.; Viola Ishmael of Gayville, S.D.; Matt Leiferman of White, S.D.; Katie Storm of Archer, Iowa; Brook Benes of Lincoln, Neb.; Dominika Jedinak of Council Bluffs, Iowa; Wade Weber of Emery, S.D.; Ryan Styles and Allison Odens of Vermillion; Farruzah Hutchison and Fatmata Coomber of Grand Forks, N.D.; Maria Schwader of Winfred, S.D. and Leah Rogness of Astoria, S.D.

This year’s institute, which was July 13 through July 17, included field trips to a nationally-recognized public accounting firm and various regional businesses, as well as seminars and lectures featuring some of the area’s top accountants. Participants also explored career opportunities in accounting and finance, listened to faculty presentations and participated in fun events, including a pizza party at Prentis Park in Vermillion, an afternoon and evening at Wild Water West in Sioux Falls, S.D., and bowling and movies throughout the week. Team and individual awards were also presented to camp participants, and four students received scholarships to attend USD to study accounting.

Sponsors of the Summer Accounting Institute included Deloitte; Eide Bailly; KPMG; McGladrey & Pullen Certified Public Accountants; The South Dakota CPA Society; Ernst & Young; Daniel, Meyer, Casey, Peterson & Associates, Ltd.; Jones, Kramer & Haber, LLP; Daktronics; South Dakota Investment Council; USD Beacom Opportunity Fund; Ketel Thorstenson, LLP; Brandt, Solomon and Anderson LLP; Steven Sikorski; and Williams and Company, PC.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website