Student award winners included Thomas Michael Cota, an economics and political science major from Sioux Falls, S.D., who was presented with the Outstanding Senior Award; and Scott Kelderman of Canton, S.D., a May 2008 graduate of USD, who was awarded the Outstanding Graduate Student Award.

Distinguished Service Awards were presented to distinguished alumni: G. Mark Mickelson, president and owner of Mickelson & Company, LLC of Sioux Falls, and United States Sen. John Thune, a native of Murdo, S.D., who has served as a member of the United States Congress since 1996 (a three-term member of the House of Representatives and a U.S. Senator since 2004). Thune received his master’s in business administration from USD in 1984. Mickelson, a member of the USD Board of Trustees, is also a member of the USD Foundation’s Board of Directors. In 1988, he received his Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from The U before graduating from the Harvard Law School in 1993. Boyd Hopkins, president of CorTrust Bank in Sioux Falls, and Curt Hage, chairman and CEO of Home Federal Bank in Sioux Falls, were recipients of the Distinguished Service Award: South Dakota Businessman; while Bryan Hisel, executive director of the Mitchell Area Development Corporation of Mitchell, S.D., and Brad Wheeler, president of Wheeler Manufacturing, Inc., of Lemmon, S.D., each received a Distinguished Service Award: Service to South Dakota Businesses at the luncheon.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website