It’s the 29th consecutive year that Yankton Middle School, coached by Cheryl Schaeffer, Brooks Schild and Tom Merrill, won the middle school division (Division B) competition while Brookings High, coached by Kelly Riedell, achieved first place in the high school division (Division C), topping second place Yankton which had its streak of 24 consecutive State Science Olympiad titles come to an end in 2013. Brookings High and Yankton Middle teams qualified to compete at the National Science Olympiad Tournament at Wright State University, May 17-18, in Dayton, Ohio.

Hundreds of middle school and high school students from across the state competed in several science events during the competition on the USD campus. All events for the Science Olympiad are determined at the national level. For the state tournament, faculty, staff and students from USD organized and served as judges for the events.

Division B: first place – Yankton Middle, second – Sacred Heart Middle, third – Vermillion Middle, fourth – Spearfish Middle, fifth – Mickelson Middle, sixth – Dakota Valley Middle, seventh – Tri-Valley Middle, eighth – Missouri Valley Christian Academy, ninth – Madison Middle.

Division C: first – Brookings High, second – Yankton High, third – Dakota Valley High, fourth – Spearfish High, fifth – Tri-Valley High, sixth – Todd County High, seventh – Mitchell High, eighth – Madison High.

For more information about South Dakota Science Olympiad, please visit or contact Clark Bennett, state director, at or (605) 677-5248.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website