The DOE will provide 200 scholarships for teachers, administrators, counselors, social workers, psychologists, student advocates, literary specialists, school nurses and teacher assistants to attend the conference free of charge. In-person conference attendees are eligible for travel expenses. In addition to the scholarships, attendees can earn 10 continuing education contact hours.

To request a conference scholarship from the DOE, complete this form. Within 10 business days, a special registration link will be sent to utilize the scholarship.

The Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation has provided funding for service providers, such as social workers, medical and dental professionals, behavioral health and law enforcement, working in the metro Sioux Falls area of Minnehaha, Lincoln, Turner and McCook counties. Those who are interested in applying for a scholarship from the foundation, complete this form.

The 21st annual Community Response to Child Abuse Conference will consist of both in-person and virtual options at the Sioux Falls Convention Center.

Keynote speakers include the following.

  • Lundy Bancroft, “The Batterer as Parent”
  • Jim Holler, “Vicarious Trauma - The Silent Killer”
  • Terry Liggins, M.P.A., “Hurdles, Help, and Hope: Becoming the Hurdle Life Coach”

The in-person only pre-conference education track includes the following.

  • Connect Youth to Caring Adults and Activities: How to Implement a Youth Mentoring Program
  • Working in Collaboration and Partnership with the Best Interest of the Child/Children
  • Toward Better Differential Assessment of Trauma in School Children

Conference sponsors include the Center for the Prevention of Child Maltreatment, South Dakota’s Unified Judicial System Court Improvement Program, Child’s Voice at Sanford Health, Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation, and the South Dakota Department of Education.

To learn more about the conference, visit the conference website at

The Center for the Prevention of Child Maltreatment (CPCM),, is the first organization to join local, tribal, state and federal efforts in the fight against child sexual abuse and other forms of maltreatment in South Dakota. CPCM was born out of the work of Jolene’s Law Task Force, established through SDCL 2-6-31 and its comprehensive 10-year plan to help South Dakotans know of, respond to and prevent child sexual abuse. The center’s director is Carrie Sanderson.

The Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation unites passionate donors with important causes to help create a stronger, brighter future for our area. Founded in 1984, the community foundation has helped our area’s thinkers and dreamers create meaningful change through philanthropy, granting more than $200 million to nonprofits throughout our community and helping more than 1,000 families navigate their philanthropic journey. Today, the Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation is the trusted steward of more than $200 million in assets. Learn more at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website