Twelve members of the fraternity were on hand to receive the Hugh Shields Award for Chapter of Excellence by the International Fraternity. One of 10 chapters in the fraternity to earn the distinction, USD’s Delta Gamma Chapter also received the Court of Honor, which presented to the top 20 Delta Tau Delta chapters across the United States.

The Hugh Shields Award for Chapter Excellence was officially established in 1965 and is named for the late Hugh Shields (Indiana University, 1926), the first executive vice president of the fraternity. The award’s criteria are designed to recognize overall excellence in academics, chapter finance, membership education, operations, campus leadership and university involvement, service and philanthropy, alumni relations and overall chapter programs.

Delta Tau Delta has 126 chapters and colonies across the United States with a membership of approximately 6,000 undergraduates and 140,000 alumni members. Delta Tau Delta, a values-driven fraternity, was founded in 1858 and fulfills many purposes, including cultivating and developing its members’ leadership skills, academic achievement, community service efforts and assisting members with life and career planning.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website