Megan Maassen of Brandon, S.D., was the recipient of the Outstanding Senior Award. Maassen will graduate in December with a master’s degree in professional accountancy. Cheryl Tiahrt of Wakonda, S.D., was presented with the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. Tiahrt received her M.B.A. from USD last May.

Alumnus Gary DeVries, M.P.A., C.P.A., managing director of Lamont Enterprises LP of Aberdeen, S.D., received Distinguished Service Award: Alumnus. Brian Gramm, M.B.A., founder and CEO of Peppermint Clean Energy, Sioux Falls, was presented with the Distinguished Service Award: South Dakota Business Person of the Year. Beth Davis, president of South Dakota Rural Enterprises of Renner, S.D., was awarded the Distinguished Service Award: Service to South Dakota Businesses during the awards ceremony.

Additionally, the 64th annual Beacom School of Business Award Luncheon honored emeriti faculty members Jon Carpenter, Ph.D., professor emeritus of accounting; Raymond Ring, Ph.D., professor emeritus of economics; and Diego Salazar, Ph.D., professor emeritus of statistics.

Download a photo of the recipients (front row, left to right: Ring, Carpenter, Salazar; back row, left to right: Tiahrt, Maassen, DeVries, Gramm and Davis).

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website