Helmer, who was born and raised in Peru, earned a Ph.D. in Hispanic languages from UCLA. She joined the USD Department of Languages, Linguistics and Philosophy in 2008. Her teaching interests include advanced Spanish language classes, Spanish Linguistics, Civilization, Culture and Literature of the Americas, Spanish for Business and the Medical Field, and Latin American Film. Helmer’s research interests are co-existence of Latin and Spanish in Colonial Peru, historical linguistics, sociolinguistics, and phonetics. She received a M.A. in Archeology from UCLA and a B.A. in Archaeology and Classical Studies from Occidental College. A photo of Helmer is available for download at www.usd.edu/press/news/images/releases/Angela_Helmer.jpg.

Made possible thanks to a gift from Monsignor James Michael Doyle, former chair of religious studies at USD and a prominent theologian inducted into the South Dakota Hall of Fame, the Doyle Award is presented annually to an outstanding teacher in the Humanities Division of the College of Arts & Sciences.

In addition to the presentation of the award, the Alpha Chapter of South Dakota, Phi Beta Kappa, at the University of South Dakota initiated new members and hosted a celebratory banquet. The chapter, the only one in South Dakota, initiated 31 new members into the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honor society: Hillary Rosie Ahmed of Vermillion, S.D.; Cassie Bartlett, Rebecca Jarding, Andrea Petersen, Jessica Sundleaf and Ian Williams of Sioux Falls, S.D.; Janice Baumberger of Indianapolis, Ind.; Ryan Blake and Josh Svendsen of Pierre, S.D.; Katie Bojan of Papillion, Neb.; Megan Card of Pella, Iowa; Amber Ewers of Columbus, Neb.; Brandi Hansman of Garretson, S.D.; Andrew Hanson of Box Elder, S.D.; Breanna Helland of Frederick, S.D.; Chandler Hunt of Dakota Dunes, S.D.; Anna Hyronimus of Valley Springs, S.D.; Amanda Janssen of Crofton, Neb.; Andrea Kelly of Le Mars, Iowa; Zachary Koenig of Chamberlain, S.D.; Ashley Lynch of Frankfort, S.D.; Mackenzie Mears of Milbank, S.D.; Paige Moser of Rapid City, S.D.; Erik Muckey of Corsica, S.D.; Riley Paulsen of Yankton, S.D.; Samson Ptacek of Piedmont, S.D.; Nolan Schmidt of Avoca, Iowa; Lexy Schuman of Mitchell, S.D.; Rebeka Tobias of Pilger, Neb.; and TiAnna Vogt of Bonesteel, S.D.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email usdnews@usd.edu
Contact Website website