Eight students from the Class of 2011 were elected last fall: Matthew J. Anderson of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa, Laura Doshier of Rapid City, S.D., Kelly Larson of Brandon, S.D., Marta Lewis of Clackamas, Ore., Sarah Liebe of Milbank, S.D., John Reynen of Sioux Falls, S.D., and Jared A. Sutton of Watertown, S.D. Four students from the Class of 2012 were elected as juniors this spring: Kelly Evans of Brookings, S.D., Alicia M. Palmer of Pierre, S.D., and Courtney Grimsrud and Carl P. Rasmussen of Sisseton, S.D.

Alpha Omega Alpha is organized for educational purposes and aims to promote scholarship and research in medical schools through the encouragement of a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and graduates. The USD chapter was granted its charter in 1978. Members of Alpha Omega Alpha at The U must rank in the top 25 percent of their graduating class with no more than one-sixth of potential graduates elected for membership. Scholastic excellence is not the only criterion for election; integrity, capacity for leadership, compassion and fairness in dealing with colleagues are considered to be of equal significance.

In addition to students, the chapter elected one faculty, one alumnus and one resident. Dr. James Bowman was the alumnus, Dr. David Rossing is the faculty inductee and Dr. Sara Ruter, Internal Medicine resident, is the resident.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email usdnews@usd.edu
Contact Website website