Alpha Omega Alpha is organized for educational purposes and aims to promote scholarship and research in medical schools through the encouragement of a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and graduates. The University of South Dakota chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha was granted its charter from the national organization in 1978. Members of Alpha Omega Alpha at The U must rank in the top 25 percent of their graduating class with no more than one-sixth of potential graduates elected for membership.

Students elected to the society are men and women who, in the judgment for the local chapter, have shown promise of becoming leaders in their profession. Scholastic excellence is not the only criterion for election; integrity, capacity for leadership, compassion and fairness in dealing with one’s colleagues are considered to be of equal significance.

Seven student from the class of 2008 were elected as seniors last fall, including Nathan Bradley of Pierre, S.D., Sam Chelmo of Kimball, S.D., Kassy Hegge of Baltic, S.D., Emily Horner of Sioux Falls, S.D., Nathan Miller of Parker, S.D., Jenny Nelson of Freeman, S.D., and Annette Siewart of Yankton, S.D., while two students from the class of 2009 were elected as juniors this spring: Tara Miller and Andrew Gunn, both of Sioux Falls.

In addition, the chapter elects up to one faculty, one alumnus and one resident each spring. The alumnus nominated for the honor is Dr. Julian Reiland-Smith, a clinical assistant professor, department of surgery, and a member of the class of 1992. Dr. Joseph Fanciullo, associate professor, department of internal medicine, was selected for faculty AOA induction while Dr. Deshandra Raidoo, psychiatry resident, was nominated for resident induction.

For more information, please contact Mary Sutter, program assistant II, at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website