The award in the Social Sciences Division of the College of Arts & Sciences goes to Eric Jepsen, associate professor of political science. Jepsen joined the USD faculty 12 years ago and serves as internship director for undergraduate students in his department. Under Jepsen’s direction, the political science department doubled its number of summer interninternships from 14 placements in 2015 to 34 in 2017. He also chairs the College of Arts & Sciences Blue Ribbon Task Force on Student Recruitment, where he leads the committee’s work to increase the role that college departments and faculty play in recruiting students to campus. Jepsen’s research focuses on the political economy of investment flows and government strategies for development in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. A few of the classes he teaches include Governments of the World, World Politics, and Democracy and Authoritarianism.

Sander, the recipient in the Mathematics/Natural Sciences Division, is an assistant professor of physics. A member of the USD faculty since 2013, Sander’s research efforts focus on attempting to detect dark matter particles interacting in a detector on Earth. He has obtained five external grants to support his studies, including helping to build the USD-led consortium of scientists that won a $4.3 million grant from the National Science Foundation. Sander teaches Introductory Physics I and II and Astronomy I and II, bringing in additional concepts—such as astronomical breakthroughs by non-western cultures and advances by women astronomers—to engage students in the topic. Sander also mentors and guides master’s and doctoral level physics students as well as undergraduate honors theses.

Tinguely, assistant professor of philosophy, is the recipient in the Humanities Division. Tinguely has taught courses in ethics, philosophy, history and aesthetics since coming to USD in 2012. His approach to teaching promotes learning as an activity that needs to be practiced and cultivated. Classroom activities in Tinguely’s courses expand on reading and discussion to include interactive, visual representations of concepts such as power and revolution. Tinguely serves as coordinator of the Philosophy Program. In recent years the program introduced a degree specialization in “Ethics, Law, and Society” while doubling the number of majors and course enrollments. In addition, the program is now initiating a Professional Ethics Certificate for USD students. As a researcher, he studies Kant and Post-Kantianism, aesthetics, social and political thought, and 19th and 20th century European philosophy. Last year, Tinguely published his first book, Finding the World: The Reorientation of Kant’s Aesthetics.

The Cutler Awards were endowed in 2003 by Richard and Sharon Cutler of Sioux Falls to recognize distinguished faculty in the College of Arts & Sciences. A former member of the board of directors of Senior Companions of Sioux Falls, Sharon Cutler has been active in Sioux Falls community organizations. Richard Cutler earned a B.A. in history (’63) and a J.D. (’65) at USD, and was awarded an honorary doctorate by the university in 1997. He has been chair of USD Foundation, co-chair of Campaign South Dakota, and chair of the board of trustees of the National Music Museum. He is a founding partner of Cutler Law Firm in Sioux Falls.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website