Bentz received the Edward J. Batt Memorial Award, one of the medical school’s oldest awards named after Dr. Edward Batt, a family physician who taught students at the USD medical school and also family medicine physician-residents in the Sioux Falls Family Medicine Residency program. 

Dr. Susan Anderson, chair of the medical school’s family medicine department, presented the award to Dr. Bentz.

Bentz has been a faculty member in the school of medicine’s family medicine program since 1987, and has been active not only as a clinical professor, but also with the medical school’s rural medical clerkships and as an influential and positive preceptor preparing students for clinical practice. Bentz was the South Dakota Academy of Family Physicians’ (SDAFP) Doctor of the Year in 2015, and he has also served as president of the SDAFP.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website