NASA EPSCoR strengthens the research capabilities of states that have not in the past participated equally in competitive aerospace and aerospace-related research activities. EPSCoR provides eligible jurisdictions with funding to develop a more competitive research base within their jurisdiction and member academic institutions. Seven federal agencies conduct EPSCoR programs. Researchers or research groups from USD receiving 2009 seed grants from South Dakota NASA EPSCoR are:

Chaoyang Jiang, department of chemistry, “Robust and Lightweight SERS Active Nanocomposites for Materials Detection in Planetary Explorations,” Space Science and Astrobiology Division, NASA Ames Research Center.

Dongming Mei, department of physics and earth sciences, and Andre Petukhov, department of physics and William M. Roggenthen Department of Geology and Geological Engineering at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, “Atomic Interferometry based Subterranean Gravimetry at DUSEL,” Advanced Aerospace Materials and Devices, NASA Ames Research Center, and Department of Physics at Stanford University.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website