The national award recognizes Yutrzenka’s efforts to improve diversity among students at the Sanford School of Medicine—particularly, his work with the region’s Native American population. Yutrzenka has been instrumental in the development and coordination of the SSOM Indians into Medicine (INMED) medical student Transfer Program (conducted in cooperation with INMED and the University of North Dakota School of Medicine). He and colleagues have also established the Native American Scholars Program (NASP), a comprehensive career mentoring, advising and education program designed to assist USD Native American students who are preparing for careers as physicians and other healthcare professionals. In addition, Yutrzenka has spent several decades working to expand opportunities for American Indian high school students to enter careers in health care.

“We are pleased to see Dr. Yutrzenka honored for his significant efforts to bring greater diversity to our school and to the health care professions,” said Mary Nettleman, M.D., M.S., M.A.C.P., dean of the Sanford School of Medicine and USD’s vice president for health affairs.

AAIM is a consortium of five academically focused specialty organizations representing departments of internal medicine at medical schools and teaching hospitals in the United States and Canada. AAIM consists of the Association of Professors of Medicine (APM), the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine (APDIM), the Association of Specialty Professors (ASP), the Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine (CDIM), and the Administrators of Internal Medicine (AIM). Through these organizations, AAIM represents department chairs and chiefs; clerkship, residency, and fellowship program directors; division chiefs; and academic and business administrators as well as other faculty and staff in departments of internal medicine and their divisions.

A photo of Yutrzenka is available for download at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website