The conference was sponsored by the USD Department of History and Phi Alpha Theta, the national honor society in history. Forty-seven graduate and undergraduate students from 9 colleges and universities throughout the region presented or commented on papers.

Professor Emma Scioli of the University of Kansas delivered the plenary lecture, “Barbarian Queen on the Silver Screen: History and Metahistory in Julie Taymor's Titus (1999)."

The following is a list of the 6 USD award winners.

Here are the prize-winning students and their papers according to category. The students received certificates and book prizes courtesy of Phi Alpha Theta.

Art History
Madison Pierson, Morningside College
“Art as Social Commentary: Norman Rockwell Illustrates the Civil Rights Movement”

Military History
Brody Egger, Morningside College
“McNamara’s Billion-Dollar Blunder”

Economic History
Kolby Reinke, University of South Dakota
“The Failures of Protectionism: Joseph Chamberlain and the Tariff Reform League, 1902-1907”

Women in History
Jessica Jordano, University of South Dakota
“Nineteenth-Century Russian Women’s Education: Solidifying Tradition yet Brewing Resistance”

Environmental History
Jordan Smith, University of South Dakota
“Homestake Mine: From Gold to Neutrinos in the Economy of the Black Hills”

Regional History
Allison Agee, Morningside College
“Training at Fort Des Moines: The Catalyst of Racial Change”
“Students’ Freedom of Speech and the Atmosphere in America that Sought to Hold It Back”

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website